Skip to content
June 30, 2011 / JaymeJ

a little push…a big leap

I compose essays in my head. I pen letters that are never written, entire conversations composed of words left unspoken.

There are excuses as to why these are not recorded…not enough time, other priorities, laziness, fear.

This spring, as I was looking ahead and setting goals for next school year, I decided that it was time to leap. It was time to share my unwritten thoughts. I was going take the time to record these musings, to reflect upon my experiences, to share with and learn more from others.

Then I had a chance encounter with George Couros at ISTE’s Blogger’s Cafe. He challenged me. Don’t wait until next school year. Don’t wait until next month or even next week. Start now. That little push — the encouragement that I do not need be an “expert“, that learning requires reflection, that conversations spark new ideas — led to this big leap.

I started blogging at the Blogger’s Cafe. And I’m still learning…

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mslaidler / Jun 30 2011 8:01 pm

    I wrote a very similar first blog just a week or so ago, I look forward to hearing about your journey!

  2. Vicky Sedgwick / Jun 30 2011 8:10 pm

    Yeah Jayme! I have way more time in the summer to blog than during the school year so now is a great time to start blogging!
    ~Vicky

  3. Jeremy Inscho / Jun 30 2011 9:46 pm

    Congratulations on taking the plunge! I, too, have just statted blogging and hope to have my third post done this afternoon. I look forward to reading more from you.

    • JaymeJ / Jul 10 2011 6:04 am

      Thanks Jeremy and Autumn. I look forward to reading your blogs and learning alongside you both.

  4. George Couros / Jul 2 2011 12:03 am

    Congratulations on your first post 🙂 I remember when I started and wrote something and thought, “now what?” Just try to share your thoughts and write for yourself, but publicly. Speaking to you at ISTE, I know that you have a lot to share 🙂

    • JaymeJ / Jul 10 2011 6:05 am

      Thank you, again, for your vote of confidence. It was wonderful chatting with you at ISTE!

What are your thoughts?

