Skip to content
March 19, 2013 / JaymeJ

#CUE13 – The hashtag that launched a thousand tabs

Unable to attend CUE, I devoutly (read: obsessively) followed #cue13 on my TweetDeck. 35 new favorites/Diigo bookmarks later, I have conference hangover without ever leaving my desk. In addition to hoarding bookmarks, I also have the compulsive desire to read and explore. Thus my browser window looks like this AFTER closing “unnecessary tabs” that I’m not interested in reading:

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 2.44.35 PM

So on Monday afternoon, after a day spent exploring resources from CUE13, here’s where I stand:

  • Discovered SooMeta, then realized that SooMeta and Masher and (both awesomely cool websites) don’t work with our school firewall. There goes the 6th grade Remix/Rework project designed to teach students about Creative Commons, Copyright, and Fair Use principles.
  • Learned about PowToon4EDU. (Can’t wait for the Class accounts and Paper-Cut features to roll out soon!) Brainstorming ways to possibly use this new tool. Maybe 6th graders could create PSA‘s about digital citizenship. Summarize what they learned about digital citizenship this year? Or maybe target their PSA to younger students – “What is the most important lesson that K-2 should learn about digital citizenship?” Or possibly give tips to 3rd graders as they move to upper school, our 1:1 program, and GAFE accounts?
  • Spent waaaayyyy too much time on Twitter! But during that time, managed to…

And I only have 20 more tabs to go…

Update 3/20 –

With all of my reading, as well as work related items, my tab volume has not improved! Witness the view at 2:00 pm on Wednesday:

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 1.59.58 PM

Thank goodness tomorrow is a pupil-free day. Maybe I can catch up on my reading before Spring Break?

 

What are your thoughts?

