Skip to content
July 15, 2013 / JaymeJ

PSA for PD: The case for quality

Special thanks to Tiffaney Lavoie @KEDCtechconsult for the inspired subtitle.

This presentation originally began as an assignment for my Historical and Philosophical Foundations of Education project, looking at a current critical issue in the U.S. educational system through a philosophical lens. In preparation, we read Philosophy of Education by Nel Noddings. We were then assigned to create a presentation:

The focus of this presentation will be some critical problem in American education.  Students are free to identify any problem that is relevant to their lives and work.  The purpose of the presentation is to bring focused attention to the problem and to examine the issue philosophically.  In addition, students will consider how an innovative approach may be used to see the problem differently.

At first, I was stumped. Nel Noddings’ model of care ethics totally resonated with me and I immediately saw parallels to professional development. But, what angle should I use for my presentation  I most definitely didn’t think that professional development was related to feminist philosophy! I issued a 12:30 am plea for help via Twitter. (Just an aside…I love my PLN. Such great ideas and assistance at any hour of the day!) Paul Hamilton @PaulHamilton8, Kevin Ashworth @SLOliveKevin and Karl Lindgren-Streicher @LS_Karl provided inspiration. Then Vicky Smart @VLSmart chimed in. Vicky and I connected at ISTE 2013. (Thank goodness!) From Australia, as she was waiting for her daughter’s dance class to end, Vicky provided me some framework and assisted me in clarifying exactly what I wanted to say. The combination of her input, and my having to summarize, in #140, what I was trying to communicate, revealed the obvious path of my presentation.

And so, with out further ado, I give you my presentation. Which, after viewing, I dubbed my “PSA for Professional Development.”

As this was a presentation focusing on philosophy, I only asked “Why?” But the “How?” is just as important. I get to tackle that in my next assignment, looking at the same topic through the lens of leadership.

I welcome your feedback. Why is Professional Development important? What can we do do ensure “high quality” professional development? How does successful technology integrated professional development look at your school? How can we get teachers to feel invested and to take leadership in their own professional development?

Let the conversation begin…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vicky Smart / Jul 15 2013 7:22 pm

    Wonderful to see the final result and it may me think after our short twitter discussion. Care is something that is missing from the tech ed literature. I hope you don’t mind but I will love to share this with my pre-service teachers when I get back to teaching next year. I don’t know the criteria for your assessment but it looks great to me. Congratulations Jayme.

    • JaymeJ / Jul 15 2013 10:13 pm

      I would be honored for you to share it with others and would cherish the opportunity to start a conversation with your pre-service teachers, imploring them to be life-long learners and to be responsible for their own learning – to set professional goals, to build their own professional learning network/community. Thank you again, for your input. It was a tremendous help!

What are your thoughts?

